HOPARE

Paris, France. B. 1989

71196775_2412815998992426_68027448949583

A rising figure of French street art, Alexandre Monteiro alias HOPARE, is a consummate artist mixing abstraction and figuration in a controlled geometric dynamism. He discovered urban art at the age of twelve, while exploring an old abandoned factory with some friends. His interest in street art blossomed under his teacher and mentor Marchal Mithouard aka Shaka, another Parisian street artist, who quickly detected the potential of his young student.

 

Seeking his own artistic identity, HOPARE began working for a interior architectural firm. Here, he learned a different way of drawing, based on straight, structured and parallel lines. This geometric influence continues to be visible in HOPARE's work. 

In his creations, interlacing lines reveal faces. Whether on canvas, walls, or in sculptures, HOPARE works to establish a connection with the spectator. Each of his pieces is based on human interactions, meetings and discoveries. His many travels have given him the opportunity to become acquainted with different cultures, whose influence is apparent in his creations.

Between exhibitions in galleries and art in public spaces, HOPARE now manages a full-time practice. His work can be found on walls in Paris, Montréal, Hong Kong, Lisbon and Casablanca to mention a few, he's even painted on objects as varied as couches and even Bentleys. 'What I want to offer to the spectator is the opportunity to travel,' he says. 'If someone sees one of my artworks and scratches his head in search of more details, then for me it's a success.'

HOPARE

Paris, France, né en 1989

71196775_2412815998992426_68027448949583

Figure montante du street art français, Alexandre Monteiro alias HOPARE, est un artiste complet qui mêle abstraction et figuration dans un dynamisme géométrique contrôlé. Il découvre l'art urbain dès l'âge de douze ans en arpentant les couloirs d'une vieille usine désaffectée et se fait vite remarquer par son professeur et mentor, Shaka. A la recherche de sa propre identité plastique, HOPARE travaille pendant quelque temps dans une entreprise d'architectes d'intérieur. Il appréhende une manière de dessiner différente, basée sur des lignes droites, parallèles, structurées. 

Des visages se dévoilent dans ses compositions sous l'entrelacement maîtrisé des lignes. Sur toiles, murs ou encore à travers la sculpture, l'artiste cherche à établir une connexion avec son public. Toutes ses œuvres sont construites autour d'interactions humaines, de rencontres et de découvertes. Ses nombreux voyages lui ont permis de côtoyer de nouvelles cultures, autant d'inspirations qui animent ses réalisations. 

Entre expositions en galeries et arts de rue, HOPARE devient un artiste à plein temps. Il peint des murs à Paris, Montréal, Hong Kong, Lisbonne ou Casablanca et signe des créations sur des canapés ou des Bentley… « Ce que je veux offrir au spectateur, c’est la possibilité de voyager », dit-il. « Si quelqu’un voit ma création et se gratte la tête à la recherche de nouveaux détails, alors pour moi c’est une réussite », commente-t-il.